An now an inspirational story – Homeless man scores his big break abroad.

Johnny Lynch

A 20-year-old homeless man has kick-started his football career after being selected for the Homeless FA’s England team.

Tom Queripel said his life has been changed since being chosen to play for the national homeless football charity. Mr Queripel has been with the Mayday trust since July last year having lived in a tent for two months following the breakdown of his relationship.

Following encouragement from his support worker at the trust Mr Queripel applied for the Homeless FA and was this week due to travel to Portugal for his first game.

He said: “I’m absolutely over the moon. When I got the call to tell me I got through I wanted to scream with joy, I couldn’t stop smiling. I’ve been playing football since I was five years old – when I could first kick a ball. It’s always been a massive part of my life.”

He said: “I will get the chance to meet and play with new people, face the challenges of being in new situations and environments and conquer personal challenges for self improvement.

“If I’m successful in Portugal, there is the opportunity to play in the Homeless FA world Cup in Poland.”

Since being selected Mr Queriple has completely changed his diet and lifestyle to get in shape for the team.

He said: “This experience so far has opened up a lot for me, I am going to volunteer at Daventry Town FC and do my level 1 and 2 coaching badges there, I’m also looking for a club to play for next season.”

The trust have also bought Tom a pair of football boots

From all of us at Broken Films we wish Tom the very best of luck and hope this encourages others to follow there dreams.

Thank you for all your support.

Don’t forget to follow us on our social media websites

Twitter https://twitter.com/ukhomelessness
Facebook https://www.facebook.com/UKHomelessness

All blogs, social media are from myself Johnny Lynch and the views are my own.

One thought on “An now an inspirational story – Homeless man scores his big break abroad.

  1. Such amazing news 🙂 A massive well done …Never give up hope ! As it can be just around the corner ….:-) KJ

Leave a Reply

